Since OTT advertisements are done through platforms online, brands and content creators get a chance to target a more specific audience. They can tailor it to people who would likely purchase their product instead of a
larger audience.
OTT advertising has also become more common, which brings advertisers many benefits, including that it:
Allows you to better target viewers since it lets you segment audiences based on specific metrics and interests, like locations or devices used.
Helps minimize ad spend waste since your ads will be viewed by people who are likely to be interested in your brand instead of creating ads for a broad audience.
Increases engagement since it lets you re-target ads to your audience through different channels.
Lets you measure and optimize ads, meaning you can discern which ones bring more conversions and which ones you need to optimize in future campaigns.
What are some pricing models?
Cost Per View (CPV): CPV guarantees advertisers are only paying for impressions that meet the current standard of viewability: at least 50% of an ad’s pixels on screen for at least two seconds. For optimal benefits, viewability standards need to be redefined.
CPM: Cost per thousand impressions, calculated as CPM = Total Cost / Total Impressions x 1000. For example, a website that charges $1,500 per ad and reports 100,000 impressions has a CPM of $15.
CPE/CPI: Cost per engagement/cost per interaction. Pricing model in which the advertiser pays for every time a user actively engages—or interacts—with an ad.
For example, when a user hovers over a lightbox ad to expand it, that’s an engagement/interaction.
Time-Based Pricing: CPH (cost per hour) and CPS (cost per second) are pricing models in which the advertiser is guaranteed a minimum exposure time for their viewable impressions and then charged based on how much time 1000 impressions create.
Audibility and Viewability: One step beyond CPV, considering an ad must be viewable and heard.
Cost Per Completed View (CPCV): Measures how many people watch an ad. This is more challenging for publishers but does give advertisers a high level of accountability, transparency, and performance they seek.
Percent Complete: Would charge based on how much of an ad was watched. If a viewer watches the whole ad, you will pay a higher rate. Whereas you’d pay a proportionately lower rate for a smaller portion of a video watched.
Currently, CPCV is the front-runner for replacing the industry-standard CPM pricing system. Knowing a viewer has viewed your whole video is a better metric for measuring genuine engagement and understanding an audience’s preferences and interests.
If you’re finding you have a high CPCV, then something is off with your video strategy. Perhaps your video isn’t performing well due to the type of ad inventory you’ve opted for, maybe viewership is continually dropping off at the 32-second mark.
The best way to combat high prices is to continually test a variety of formats, video lengths and distribution channels.
As much as we’d love a one size fits all solution, each campaign is unique and requires A/B testing and continued optimization.